top of page

PS 89 School Leadership Team 2017-2018

What is a School Leadership Team?  

School Leadership Teams (SLTs) are vehicles for developing school-based education policies, and ensuring that resources are aligned to implement those policies. SLTs assist in the evaluation and assessment of a school's educational programs and their effects on student achievement.

SLTs play a significant role in creating a structure for school-based decision making, and shaking the path to a collaborative school culture.

New York State Education Law Section 2590-h requires every New York City Public school to have a School Leadership Team. In addition, Chancellor's regulations A-655 establishes guidelines to ensure the formation of effective SLTs in every NYC public school.


PS 89's Mission Statement


The mission of PS 89 is to provide an engaging and nurturing school community dedicated to the development of independent thinkers and lifelong learners. PS 89 emphasizes creativity, exploration, understanding, and communication - especially through its innovative, comprehensive, and interdisciplinary social studies program. To ensure a broad exposure to a liberal arts-based curriculum, all PS 89 students participate in the music, art, dance, science, and physical education programs. The school library and instructional technology further enrich the learning at PS 89. Through high quality, Common Core Learning Standards-based instruction, a nurturing environment, and the development of civic, social, and technological skills necessary to function productively in the world at large, we create a community of active, curious learners.

Meeting Dates

All SLT meetings are held on a Tuesday each month and convene in the conference room in room 208. They are scheduled to meet for one hour according to the following schedule:


September 26, 3:30 pm

October 26, 3:30 pm

November 21, 3:30 pm

December 19, 3:30 pm

January 23, 3:30 pm

February 27, 3:30 pm

March 27, 3:30 pm

April 24, 3:30 pm

May 22, 3:30 pm

June 19, 3:30 pm

SLT Members


UFT Designee




PTA President





Veronica Najjar

Roe Wrubel

Tracy Ackerman

Yumika Hirashima

Connie Schraft

Michele Friesz

Deirdre Littlewood

Lee Shufro

Erika Togneri

Amy Van Buskirk

bottom of page